Mandatory Reporting Information for Psychiatrists
from the January Medical Board Newsletter, page 16:
Physicians are required per California Business and Professions Code section 802.1 to report to the Board if they have been charged or convicted of a felony. Legislation was passed in 2005 to amend this statute to include the requirement that physicians also must report any misdemeanor conviction.
As is required for reporting felony convictions, the law specifies that the report be made to the Board in writing within 30 days. Failure to file a report may result in a fine not to exceed $5,000. Since July 1, 2008, the Board has issued 52 citations and fines to physicians for not reporting misdemeanor convictions. The inclusion of this article, for a second time, is to alert and remind physicians of this mandate, and the importance of reporting to the Board in a timely manner. A form has been created to facilitate reporting convictions to the Medical Board. The form is on the Board’s Web site at www.mbc.ca.gov, under Forms, Mandatory Reporting Forms, and is entitled, “Physician Reporting-Criminal Actions.”
“The following publications are available for ordering or downloading. Orders involving cost must be prepaid, payable to the Medical Board of California and sent to 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1200, Sacramento, CA 95815. For questions regarding these publications, call (916) 263-2466.
Please note: Those publications with an asterisk (*) are required to be provided by physicians to patients under certain conditions.